This web page explains some of the requirements to register a Domestic
Partnership in Marin County. The page is maintained by the office of the
Marin County Clerk. Questions, comments and suggestions should be directed
Domestic Partnership History: Marin County and the State of California
On April 27, 1993, the Marin County Board of Supervisors passed Ordinance No. 3140 adding
Chapter 6.88 to the Marin County Code to establish recognition of Domestic Partnerships. The purpose
of the chapter is to recognize committed relationships of any sexual orientation within the County of Marin.
Family Code Section 199.6(c) allows for the County to retain its local ordinance.
The State of California, on July 1, 2000, adopted Family Code Section 297 that allows for
registration of same sex relationships and opposite sex relationships if at least one member is 62
years of age or older. Individuals meeting the State's criteria as of July 1, 2000 should register with the State.
State of California Domestic Partnership Registration
Please review the Secretary of State's Domestic Partners Registry.
Marin County Domestic Partnership Registration
Please be advised that Marin County's Domestic Partnership is applicable only within
the County of Marin in accordance with
Marin County Code Section 6.88. You may view and download Marin County's Domestic Partnership Information Sheet in PDF format.
A registration for a Marin County Domestic Partnership is handled through the marriage license division
of the Marin County Clerk's Office for a fee of $20.00. To register with Marin County, the couple may appear in person
to sign, or have their signatures notarized for filing through the mail. The couple will agree and sign under penalty of
perjury to the following statements: that they will be responsible for each other's basic living expenses; that they are at
least 18 years of age; that they are not married or related to each other; and that neither have had a different domestic
partner within the last six months.
You may view and download Marin County applications in PDF format:
Marin County Domestic Partnership Registration certificates are issued between 9:00 and 4:00 Monday through Friday.